Our Executive Board is responsible for the day-to-day running of the Barts Cancer Institute (BCI) and the Barts Cancer Research UK Centre (BCC). Its aims are:· To develop and implement strategy for the BCC.

  • To determine the expenditure of CR-UK’s core funding, defining the posts required to ensure efficient, general support for the Centre and deciding on major capital investment.
  • To ensure the proper running of the non-clinical and clinical training programme and monitor student/staff performance.
  • To foster collaboration toward securing programme, project grant and fellowship funding.
  • To undertake pre-submission peer review of grant applications and bids for industrial and other sources of funding.
  • To support senior staff in the performance management of the BCC.
  • To receive and monitor the BCC budget reports and maintain the Centre in balance.
  • To ensure local engagement with the external community

Executive Board Members

Chair nick_lemoine  Professor Nick Lemoine
BCI Deputy Chair kairbaan_hodivala_dilke  Professor Kairbaan Hodivala-Dilke
BCC Governance Board Principal Investigator Members Professor Jack Cuzick, Professor Peter Sasieni
Governance Board Principal Investigator Member, Centre Lead Professor John Gribben
Centre Lead Professor Fran Balkwill
Centre Lead Professor Christopher Heeschen
Centre Lead Dr Tyson Sharp
Centre Lead Professor Peter Schmid
Centre Lead Professor Sir Nicholas Wright
CR-UK PI Grant Holders Professor Jude Fitzgibbon, Dr Michelle Lockley
BCC Core Services Director Professor John Marshall
Head of Research Computing Mr Jonathan Croft
Senior Cancer Nurse Ms Claire Murrell
Senior Manager Dr Delphine Purves
Deputy Manager/BCI Ms Kate Fromant
Deputy Manager/CCP Manager Ms Ellie Stewart
CR-UK Research Engagement Manager Ms Sophie Organ 
Junior Board Representative Dr Daniel Foxler
Secretariat Ms Laura Odell

For more information on Queen Mary's Governance and Council members please visit the Queen Mary University of London page here.

Our Staff

Our Research and Academic staff are supported in their work by teams of professional and administrative staff.

Director's Office

nick_lemoine  Professor Nick Lemoine Institute Director
kairbaan_hodivala_dilke  Professor Kairbaan Hodivala-Dilke Deputy Director
Dr Delphine Purves Institute Manager
Ms Kate Fromant Assistant Institute Manager
Mr Jonathan Croft Head of Research Computing
Ms Laura Odell Office Manager/PA to the Director
Mr Matthew Grange Administrator
Ms Sophie Malin Reception and Administrative Assistant

Teaching Centre

Professor John Marshall Postgraduate Teaching Lead
Dr Richard Grose Undergraduate Teaching Lead
Mr Bijen Patel Clinical Senior Lecturer
Ms Olivia Cooper Senior Academic Co-ordinator

Laboratory Managers

Mr Vipul Bhakta Principal Laboratory Manager
Centre for Molecular Oncology
Dr Gavin Craig Centre for Cancer and Inflammation
Ms Debbie Buckle Centre for Tumour Biology
Ms Marjia Monsur Centre for Experimental Cancer Medicine
Mr Andrew Palfreeman Centre for Stem Cells in Cancer & Ageing
Dr Sabari Vallath Centre for Haemato-Oncology

Tissue Bank

Ms Sameena Iqbal Operations Manager
This site uses cookies in order to function properly. By continuing to browse, you agree that we can save them on your device. Privacy Policy.