Professor Kairbaan Hodivala-Dilke now a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences

Zoe Leech Posted in General News, Grants & Awards 13 May 2015

Professor Kairbaan Hodivala-Dilke from our Centre for Tumour Biology is one of 48 researchers from across the UK to have been recognised for their contribution to the advancement of medical science by election to the Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

KebsmicEditAcademy Fellows are elected for excellence in medical research, for innovative application of scientific knowledge or for their conspicuous service to healthcare. The expertise of the new Fellows includes addictions, anaesthesia, age-related diseases and animal biology.

This year, Professor Hodivala-Dilke was also honoured by the British Society for Cell Biology, who awarded her the Hooke Medal for emerging leaders in cell biology. Building on an already impressive publication record, she has recently published in Cancer Cell and Nature, and secured significant grant funding for the department.

Professor Hodivala-Dilke said:

"Becoming a fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences is a great honour. It is a reflection of all the hard work, commitment and support of my team, Institute and Mentors. So, the Honour is truly theirs."

Professor Sir John Tooke PMedSci, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences said,

"The Academy of Medical Sciences champions the excellence and diversity of medical science in the UK, and this is clearly demonstrated in this year's cohort of new Fellows. Their broad range of expertise and fantastic achievements to date shows just how strong the Fellowship is – from the NHS knowledge of Sir Andrew Dillon to the policy experience of Professor Christl Donnelly.

Their election is a much deserved honour, and I know they will contribute greatly to the Academy. I am delighted to welcome them all to the Fellowship, and look forward to working with them in the future."

This year, 17 (35%) of the new Fellows are women, compared to 23.2% of bioscience professors in the UK (2012 EU Report).

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on Wednesday 1 July 2015.

  • 48 Fellows selected from a pool of 362 candidates
  • 17 women and 31 men elected
  • New Fellows are drawn from a range of UK institutions, including London, Edinburgh, Oxford, Cambridge, Aberdeen, Southampton and Bath, and from companies including AstraZeneca, Astex and Immunocore.

Congratulations, Kebs!

Leave a comment

You are commenting as guest. Optional login below.

This site uses cookies in order to function properly. By continuing to browse, you agree that we can save them on your device. Privacy Policy.